Law Office of Gilbert B. Vega
Experienced Criminal Defense For Sacramento And Northern California
Call Today 916-426-2304

What happens to your right to drive after a DUI?

Any type of criminal charge is a threat to your future and your freedom, but it can be especially frustrating when your criminal case is a threat to your right to drive. This can be the case if you are facing DUI charges of any kind. Whether it is your first offense or you have a history of drunk driving convictions, you may find it beneficial to know how to protect your ability to drive.

In California, suspected drunk drivers may lose their licenses in a DUI traffic stop. An arrest and charges could lead to a lengthy suspension of the license, and it can be quite a process to get your license back and restore your driving privileges. If you lost your license, you have the right to know how to how to get it back and get back on the road.

Will I lose my license?

According to California law, anyone arrested for DUI will lose his or her license for a period of time. This will apply to your case, even if there was no actual conviction of the crime. Here are a few things you may need to know about your license and the impact of a DUI on your right to drive:

  • You can get your license back after your period of suspension or revocation is up. There is a $125 fee for reinstatement, or $100 for underage drivers.
  • After the initial loss of license, you may request an administrative hearing to contest the suspension or revocation of your license.
  • If your BAC was .08 percent or higher at the time of your arrest, your license suspension will be for four months if it was your first offense. Second or subsequent suspensions will lead to a one-year suspension.

There are multiple factors that could impact the specific penalties you may face for a DUI. If you are facing these types of charges, you would be wise to quickly learn about your defense options.

How you can fight back

You may believe that there is nothing you can do to fight back against a DUI, but that is simply not the case. You have the right to defend yourself, confront the case against you and challenge the prosecution's evidence. 

There is much at stake when charged with a DUI, and fighting back is always the prudent answer. After an arrest, you would be wise to take whatever steps necessary to restore your right to drive and mitigate the potential penalties you are facing.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Review Us