Sacramento Drug Crimes Attorney

We Make You a Priority

Facing drug crime charges can be stressful. These cases tend to be complicated and require a thoughtful, airtight defense. At the Law Office of Gilbert B. Vega, our criminal defense attorney is well-versed in how Sacramento County prosecutors handle drug crime charges and can put that knowledge to work for you. We work diligently for our clients. With our detail-oriented approach, we can uncover all your legal options and provide you with the counsel you need to feel supported in court.

Can You Get Drug Charges Dropped?

At the bare minimum, if the state cannot prove "scientifically" that you had an illegal substance, then your case needs to be dropped. Anything from concerns with reading your Miranda rights to a history of addiction, could potentially help you prevent prison time when confronted with possession charges.

Types of Drug Crimes

Criminal charges associated with drug crimes may be charged as either misdemeanors or felonies.

Common drug charges that we defend against include:

  • Drug possession
  • Possession with the intent to sell
  • Selling to a minor
  • Possession or selling near a school
  • Drug manufacturing
  • Drug trafficking or smuggling
  • Marijuana crimes
  • Schedule I drug crimes

The circumstances of the alleged crime will determine how you are charged.

Some of the factors that will affect how you are charged include:

  • Whether this is your first offense
  • The kind, amount, or monetary value of the controlled substances involved
  • If minor children are involved

Drug Crime Penalties in California

Though California’s drug laws are more lenient than many other states’ laws, those convicted of a drug crime may still face serious penalties. You may be facing thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, and the loss of personal rights. Additionally, having a criminal record may inhibit your ability to find employment, secure housing, or attend college. Whether you are facing a misdemeanor or a felony, you must take your charges seriously.

What is the Sentence for Drug Possession in California?

Possession of controlled substances for personal use, deemed “simple possession,” is classified as a misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to one year in county jail, community services, and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Controlled Substances fall under Schedules I - V varying by the medical uses, severity. A secondary offense can increase the fine up to $2,000 (or community service) and bring up to two years in a county jail. A misdemeanor offense can become a felony if you are a registered sex offender or have been convicted of what is deemed a “serious” felony (assault, rape, attempted murder, voluntary manslaughter, robbery, burglary, bank robbery, murder, arson, carjacking, kidnapping, or first-degree burglary). California has a “three strikes” program in place, which means that if you are charged with two felonies involving serious or violent offenses in the state, you may be subject to 25 years to life in prison on your third offense. Possession of a controlled hard substances with the intent to sell, possession near a school, distribution of drugs, sale of drugs, selling or distributing drugs to minors, or drug trafficking offenses carry stricter penalties under California Health and Safety Code 11352.

We Put Your Best Interests First

Our Sacramento drug crime lawyer has extensive experience handling all types of drug crime cases in Sacramento County. When you work with us, you can be sure that you will always be treated with care and respect. We work diligently to uncover all your legal options, ensuring that you are well informed when making important legal decisions. We provide straightforward guidance that puts your best interests first.

Real Results

From Cases Like Yours
  • Case dismissed at preliminary hearing.
    Conspiracy
  • Case Dismissed prior to trial
    Disobeying a Court Order
  • Case dismissed after 20 hours community service
    Grand Theft
  • Identity theft count dismissed at trial
    Identity Theft
  • Client found not guilty at trial
    Rape of a Child
  • One year of county jail/five years' probation
    Robbery
  • Case Dismissed.
    Robbery
/

Speak to an Experienced Defense Attorney

We're on your side.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.